Research Ethics Committee Research Management Institute

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
UiTM Research Ethics Committee

The Research Ethics Committee (REC) of Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) was established and approved by the Vice Chancellor of UiTM in 2004. The REC is currently managed by the Research Management Centre at the Institute of Research Management and Innovation (IRMI). The current Chairman is Professor Dr. Hadariah Bahron, Assistant Vice Chancellor of UiTM (Research and Innovation) and the Deputy Chairman is Professor Dr. Nafeeza Ismail from the Faculty of Medicine. The REC consists of 19 members from UiTM, other academic institutions and also from the public. Meetings are held on the third Tuesday every month.

The objectives of REC are to examine ethical issues in research proposals and to ensure that research projects conducted at UiTM are in compliance with the national and international conditions and guidelines stipulated in the Good Clinical Practice Guideline, Ministry of Health (MOH), Malaysia and the Declaration of Helsinki, World Medical Association (WMA). The responsibilities of REC are to protect the rights and wellbeing of human subjects, ensure no intentional harm inflicted on them and protect the rights of the researchers and the University.  
All research proposals involving human subjects in UiTM must be approved by the UiTM REC prior to the start of research.  When the research involves using the facilities of the Ministry of Health (MOH), researchers should obtain approval from the Medical and Research Ethics Committee (MREC) of the MOH.

For further assistance, please contact the Secretariat of the REC.